Home

Dorothy Wilson: another New york victim of predatory guardianship

11 Comments

National Association to Stop Guardianship Abuse (NASGA)

 

Dorothy Wilson is 85 years old and suffers from early dementia. She is not a stroke victim or in a wheelchair, and she does not need to be washed or bathed. She cleans and cooks for herself.   

I applied for guardianship in December, 2008, but my siblings fought this.  In March, 2009, a geriatric “care” manager and guardian were assigned to my mother and she was declared incapacitated.  An order was issued for an aide in her home 24/7, but soon arrangements were made for Mom to stay with family on weekends.  Restricted pickup and return times were ordered, and although I requested relief many times, but the judge refused to allow it. His decision was based on the care manager’s assertion that 9am on a Saturday to pickup and 9am on a Monday to return is the only time the agency, Home Companion Services of Port Jefferson, will allow.      

One aide soon became Mom’s friend and confidant. On September 15, 2009, the care manager  went to my mother’s house with a new aide that does not drive, and ordered the other aide to leave or she would call the police. Mom insisted she did not want Cheri to leave and she was threatened as well.  The guardian claimed she did this for my mother’s “safety” although nothing had happened.   

The court has refused to allow my mother to stay with family additional days when someone is available, which is what she wants, and would save her thousands of dollars in agency fees. No one listens to her or respects her wishes. After Mom complained to me and her attorney about the violation of her privacy and HIPPA rights, her attorney advised the judge via letter on October 30, 2009. False allegations were then made against me by the guardian and the care manager. On November 10, 2009, the guardian mailed a letter to me stating that I violated the court orders prohibiting anyone from discussing costs with Mom and she imposed supervised visitation.  More

TS Radio with guest Jim Fargiano

1 Comment

Join us Sunday evening at 5:00 CST! More